Rock Out With Your …. Out

Welcome back, tea sippers!

I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving break! I ate very well, but I wouldn’t mind having some more macaroni… if it weren’t already gone. I might have gotten thicker but honey, I probably wouldn’t even notice.

Ladies, I hope yall still like what yall see in the mirror! Fellas too. 😉

Over the break, I learned a lot. Ironically, classes weren’t in session, and the homework I had to complete over the break was minimal, but I learned so many life lessons. And I’m dedicating this blog post just to that.

The title of this blog might puzzle you, but hopefully you’ll understand how it’s tied together in the end.

Rock Out With Your …. Out

It seems as though during the holiday periods, things get easier, or things really get tougher.

The first holiday of the season, that being Thanksgiving, was way easier to deal with than last year. I lost my grandmother on Veteran’s Day last year, so as I ate my turkey over two weeks later, the tears seemed to get lost in my food.

But, time heals all wounds. That’s what they say, and that’s what I know.

I had a nice Thanksgiving this year. It didn’t hurt as much. But I would have liked to see more of my family. However, I’m still thankful.

One of my great aunts, who we will address as Auntie Cent, is battling cancer.

I first had heard the news from my family members when she first entered the hospital. I didn’t know what to say, especially with everything I had on my plate at the time. I said a silent prayer and I tried to move on about my day.

When I came home for Thanksgiving, I heard that she was out of the hospital and back at my late great-grandmother’s house (which is her mother’s house). I thought of giving her a call, to see if she was well up for company, but decided to take a ride instead.

You see, Auntie Cent is truly one a kind. She loved her cigarettes and she loved her books. She educated herself on almost everything that exists on the planet and it wasn’t much that she wasn’t passionate about. The twinkle in her eyes became permanent in my sight for a while, because her love for life wasn’t anywhere close to dying.

I had to prepare myself to see Auntie Cent, because I knew that she had lost a significant amount of weight. It almost reminded me of the times where I would see my grandmother in the nursing home.

You just never know what you are going to get, and how it will impact you.

My mom and I walked in, feeling a chipper yet somber atmosphere in the house.  Auntie Cent was chilling to say the least; she was giving this lollipop she was consuming the work.

I greeted her with love, and her same spirit smacked me in the face like it usually did. Her spirit clinged to me and blemished me like a food stain I had on my shirt from the cafeteria back in my elementary school days.

Her same spirit, it wasn’t unchanged. It didn’t move. It still was there for her to claim.

She never abandoned it. She never left it astray.

How could a woman battling cancer be preserved in this way?

“Cent, you are sure messing up that lollipop!” My mom joked.

“Well, what else can I do?” She chuckled. “I’d rather have a cigarette, but that’s a no go.” She shook her index finger side to side and a roar of laughter soon began to follow.

“Honey, I would rather have Crown Royal… Make it a double…On the rocks…” She muttered with a smirk on her face. “But, this lollipop will due.”

An instant smile appeared on my face. Her spirit and comedic touch was still intact. I no longer walked on eggshells as I felt when first coming into the room she laid in. I began to interact, and I began to really talk with her.

Auntie Cent is a big influence to me that she may never understand. You see, Auntie Cent motivated me to write my first book. It was a children’s book filled with narrative stories, each chapter being a different adventure.

My Auntie Cent went and got my book published for me. My very first book.

I had to be at least eleven years old.

And look at me, my Auntie Cent published what was a dream for me, into reality.

Auntie Cent was a writer herself. Her book was published in 2002.

I could now well understand where part of the writer in me derived from.

My very own, Auntie Cent.

We talked about her book, and how she wanted to keep her website up in case anyone wanted to still keep in contact with her about the book, and she was very pleased to know that I am in the works of writing another book.

She talked about how she wanted her muscle to return back into her arms, how she happy to move around her bed, and how her daughter, who is my aunt (we’ll call her Auntie Dai), goes on adventures to the grocery store and to Denny’s for breakfast. She beamed as she remembered how delicious her Lumberjack Slam tasted and how the sunrays made her feel alive.

My issues didn’t matter at that point.

Nothing that was on my mind mattered, either.

Everything I was facing didn’t amount to what Auntie Cent was facing.

How could Auntie Cent be more joyous than me? How could Auntie Cent feel rejuvenated from just simply stepping outside, no matter how weak she felt?

Auntie Cent was thankful, she was blessed, and she is still very much humble.

Here I was, tripping out about school, stressing about finding a job after graduation, making sure I amount to something with my degree, worrying about the guy I was interested in and why he wasn’t hitting me back, and going back and forth in my mind about how many days I took off from my job and how that will affect me later.

None of it mattered.

Everything is temporary.

“Don’t sweat the small stuff… cause it’s all small stuff.”

It all is small stuff! Nothing amounts to where I must stress and be depressed that much to where I am taking my own quality of life.

And nothing in your life is that big, either.

I learned this holiday break that you honestly have to be grateful for life and its contents, no matter what you may be facing because there is always someone who is going through it worse than you.

Learn to uplift others.

Love yourself by continuously uplifting yourself and those around you.

Life is short.

Appreciate it, and take a bite at it every single time, even when you do not have the appetite to do so.

I had a late night talk with a man, who I think of as special, one day over the break. We talked about an array of topics, and life happened to be one of them.

He commended me on my accomplishments, and I blushed from the fact that he actually paid attention.

He even commended me on this blog, and gave me many ideas on how I could branch out and be the real deal.

He ended it off by saying, “Rock out with your c*ck out.”

I chuckled because this was something I often said to motivate others, that including myself. It may be a little vulgar, but it’s a bold statement, and hey, I’m a pretty bold person.

He passed it to me.

And I passed it back to myself.

And now, I pass it to you all.

I pass that to my Auntie Cent, who I pray enjoys her days of life harder than she ever has.

And I know she is.

 

The holidays are here. But even when this season is to pass, always be aware of how fortunate you really are.

Humbleness and humility go a long way. Let it prolong your days of life.

 

It’s working wonders for my Auntie Cent.

 

Until next time. ❤️

2 thoughts on “Rock Out With Your …. Out

  1. Jacinda says:

    Loved this. My grandmother passed away this holiday season as yours did last year and granny had the same spirit of Aunt Cent. Battled cancer twice but showed me that the true strength of a woman is how she reacts when everything seems to crumble. Like you said, humbleness and humility goes a long way.

    Proud of you twin!

How's Your Tea?! Sip Slow & SPEAK UP!

